BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2022 LIVE! SPOTY nominees, winners, results, odds with Beth Mead favourite

With 2022 drawing to a close, it’s once again time for prizes to be handed out at tonight’s SPOTY ceremony in Salford. It’s been another successful year for British sport, with the Lionesses winning Euros in the summer and the men’s cricket team lifting the T20 World Cup trophy.

Six nominees are up for the main award, with beth mead the heavy favorite after his sensational year with England and Arsenal. The great snooker Ronnie O’Sullivan and England cricket star Ben Stokes they are also on the shortlist, along with 1500m world champion jake wightmanncurling legend Eve Muirhead and gymnastics world champion Jessica Gadirova.

Along with that, the Young Sports Personality of the Year will also be unveiled, as well as various other awards. Lionel Messi has already been confirmed as a World Sports Star, while Usain Bolt has been awarded the Lifetime Achievement honor. Follow the ceremony LIVE with the Standard Sport blog below…

live updates


Fitzpatrick is left out of the shortlist

As always, there’s a lot of attention on those who haven’t made it to SPOTY’s six-strong list.

Matt Fitzpatrick seems particularly unlucky to miss out, after winning the US Open earlier this year. He became the third Englishman to do so in 52 years.

Looking at his big trophy is decent enough comfort for the Sheffield golfer, although Gary Lineker has expressed surprise at Fitzpatrick’s absence from the shortlist.


Many other winners to be confirmed

Two award winners have already been announced, with Lionel Messi picking up the World Sports Star of the Year and Usain Bolt taking the Lifetime Achievement.

That leaves us with five other prizes to be awarded tonight:

Helen Rollason Award

Young Sports Personality of the Year

unsung hero

coach of the year

team of the year

fake images

spotty nominees

Beth Mead tops a shortlist of six finalists for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, with 1500m world champion Jake Wightman and snooker great Ronnie O’Sullivan also included.

Cricketer Ben Stokes is the only former winner on the list, which also includes world champion gymnastics Jessica Gadirova and Winter Olympics gold medalist Eve Muirhead.

Arsenal FC via Getty Images

How to watch the SPOTY ceremony

Television channel: BBC One will broadcast the ceremony live and free to air in the UK.

Live broadcast: The BBC Sport website and iPlayer will also broadcast SPOTY online.

live blog: You can follow it all here with us throughout the night!


Good afternoon!

Hello and welcome to Standard Sport’s LIVE coverage of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2022 ceremony!

Beth Mead is a heavy favorite to collect the top prize this year, after a stellar 12 months for England and Arsenal. There are plenty of other winners to name as well, including Youth Sports of the Year, so buckle up!

We’ll have all the setup right here before full coverage of the ceremony, which begins at 6:45pm GMT.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.